My First Quilt

Standard

I started quilting at the beginning of 2013.  I finished my Rainbow Bricks quilt top, using skills I’d developed while making dresses.  Then, I realized, I was going to have to quilt the beast and ground to a halt.  I did some research, read some books, tried to figure it all out, but I wasn’t sure where to go with the top.  Any ideas I had were so clearly above my skill level.

Instead, I decided to try a small piece.  I looked through the Moda Bakeshop, at the time, my only real reference and found a charm-friendly pattern for a nine patch.  After buying some cute fabric, I cut and pieced and created a little top.  I made my sandwich, just like the books said, basted with pins, and used a cheap walking foot with a guide to straight-line quilt the entire thing.  Here are the results:

My First Quilt

It may not be perfect– the seams don’t all match, the quilting lines are a bit off in some places, but I like it.  It’s cute and cheery.  I gave it to my mother for her birthday that March because she would never care that it’s not perfect.  For her, I made it, and that is all that matters.  I’m now working on a quilt top that is destined for my parents.  It is much more technical.  The quilting will be much more involved.  Most of all– it will be bigger! (Queen Sized!)

One response »

Leave a Reply

